Wat Arun was built in the Ayutthaya period (1351 to 1767). King Taksin had his palace built next to it in his reign (from 1768 to 1782). During the short time Thonburi was the capital of Siam, Wat Arun had enshrined the Emerald Buddha, which was later moved to Wat Phra Kaeo on the other side of the river.
The highlight of this temple and the landmark of Bangkok is “Pra Prang” – the central corn-shaped pagoda which reflects Khmer influence. This 67 meter high pagoda (86 meters, according to some sources) was added to the temple in the reign of King Rama II who gave this temple its current name. Another unique feature of the temple is the decorations of the Prang’s exterior with pieces of Chinese porcelain.